Himachal Dharamsala Kangra Kullu Chamba Mandi Palampur Shimla
Sujanpur Kinnaur Eco-tourism Pragpur Mcleodganj Pongdam Trekking YOGA





  Know your Chakras



Anahata is the fourth primary chakra according to the Hindu Yogic and Tantric (Shakta) traditions.

In Sanskrit the word anahata - means unhurt, un-struck and unbeaten. Anahata Nad refers to the Vedic concept of unstruck sound, the sound of the celestial realm.


The Anahata chakra is physically positioned at the heart region. Traditionally, this chakra is represented as a green flower with twelve petals which match the vrittis of lust, fraud, indecision, repentance, hope, anxiety, longing, impartiality, arrogance, incompetence, discrimination and defiance.

Anahata is associated with the ability to make decisions outside of the realm of karma. In Manipura and below, man is bound by the laws of karma, and the fate he has in store for him. In Anahata, one is making decisions, 'following your heart', based upon one's higher self, and not from the unfulfilled emotions and desires of lower nature. The 'wish-fulfilling tree', kalpa taru, resides here, symbolising the ability to manifest whatever you wish to happen in the world.

It is also associated with love and compassion, charity to others, and forms of psychic healing.

Anahata is the seat of the Jivatman.


It is associated with the following:

* Deities: Vayu (Hindu God of the wind), Isha and Kakini
* Element: Air
* Animal: Antelope
* Body Parts: Heart, Skin


In kundalini yoga, anahata is awoken and balanced through practices including asanas, pranayamas, and the practice of Ajapa Japa ( repetition of a sacred mantra ). It is purified through the process of Bhakti(devotion ).

Other Associations

In the endocrine system, Anahata is associated with the thymus gland, located in the chest. This gland produces white blood cells, that combat disease, and bring equilibrium to the body.

Many Western occultists associate this central chakra with the central sephirah, Tiphereth, in the kabbalistic tree of life. Christian kabbalists in particular associate this sephiroth with love, healing and Jesus Christ as God the Son.

Alternative names

* Tantra: Anahata-Puri, Dwadasha, Dwadashadala, H'idayambhoja, Hridabja, Hridambhoja, Hridambuja, Hridaya, Hridaya Kamala, Hridayabja, Hridayambuja, Hridayasarasija, Hrit Padma, Hritpankaja, Hritpankeruha, Hritpatra, Hritsaroruha, Padma-Sundara, Suryasangkhyadala
* Vedas (late Upanishads): Dwadashara Chakra, Fourth Chakra, Hridaya Chakra